U.S. FlagApril 21, 2015
7:36 AM

News and Information  
  Select News to View

Diane Wieland, Director
Department of Tourism and Public Information
Telephone:  609-463-6415      Fax:  609-465-4639

Link to Photo Journal Link to Photo Journal


Back to Article List

Cape May County Installs Returning Freeholder Leonard Desiderio and Names Director and Vice-Director
Release Date: January 03, 2013

Superior Court Judge J. Christopher Gibson swore in Freeholder Leonard C. Desiderio as his family looked on. Pictured are Superior Court Judge J. Christopher Gibson, Leonard Desiderio, Father, Carmel Desiderio, mother, Freeholder Leonard C. Desiderio, daughter Carmela and his wife, Carmela

Cape May Court House – A standing room crowd attended the annual Reorganization Meeting of the Cape May County Board of Chosen Freeholders on Thursday, January 3, 2013.  The meeting took place in the Freeholders’ Meeting Room at the County Administration Building located at 4 Moore Road in Cape May Court House, New Jersey.
Freeholder Leonard C. Desiderio, who was re-elected in November to serve a three-year term, was sworn in by Superior Court Judge J. Christopher Gibson.  Other participants included Joe Harris, National Trustee for Disabled American Veterans, the Sea Isle VFW Post 1963, Deacon Liam C. O’Clisham, St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church and members of the Ocean City Choir.
Freeholder Desiderio was first elected in November 2002 to complete the unexpired term of Freeholder Jeff Van Drew.  Desiderio was re-elected to serve three-year terms in November 2003, November 2006 and November 2009.   
Additionally at the meeting, Freeholder Gerald M. Thornton was re-elected Director of the Board and Freeholder Desiderio was elected Vice-Director.  Freeholder Desiderio previously served as Vice-Director of the Board in 2011.  Director Thornton served on the Board of Chosen Freeholders from 1976 to 1987 and from 1996 to-date.  Previously, Freeholder Thornton served as Director of the Board in 1985, 1987 and 2012.
Freeholders meet the second Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. (Caucus meeting), 7 p.m. (Regular Meeting) and the fourth Tuesday at 3 p.m. (Caucus Meeting), 4:30 p.m. (Regular Meeting).  The public is invited to attend all meetings which are held at the County Administration Building. For meeting dates and agendas visit capemaycountygov.net or sign up to be a fan of Cape May County Government on Facebook.

Print this page Print this page Print this page Email this page Email this page

Copyright © 2001-2015 Cape May County. All Rights Reserved. User Rights and Responsibilities

Powered by Cit-e-Net